Image hosted by

Luciano Berio and Sinfonia

Berio Conducts Berio :: Sinfonia (1968-1969); Epifanie (1965)

(Columbia MS 7268 / RCA LSC-3189)

Sinfonia (1968-1969), for eight amplified voices and orchestra, was part of a wider pattern of response to the musical crisis of the 1960s, during which avant-garde composers began once again to look to music of the past for material and inspiration – a turn towards so-called "meta music", or music about music. The third movement of Sinfonia is one of the most famous and remarkable examples of this approach: a dense fabric of verbal quotations contained within a musical quotation, the Scherzo from Mahler's Symphony No. 2, which is borrowed virtually wholesale and then used as a kind of musical armature around which Berio concocts a dazzling semantic and musical labyrinth, including further quotations (from Mahler, Ravel and Debussy, among others) and chattering texts drawn from Samuel Beckett's The Unnameable. The four outer movements frame this central tour de force with further, though more understated, explorations of the relationship between text and note – most tellingly in the second movement, "O King", a moving homage to Martin Luther King which gradually constructs a quietly intoned vocal setting of his name out of its constituent vowel sounds – a procedure analagous to that used in Circles.

Epifanie is an epiphany of sorts in modern vocal writing. The opening section is the longest, setting out what appear to be purely abstract musical figures, murmurs, sudden clashes of percussion, staccato notes scurrying across the "page" of perception. Then quietly, the voice enters. Proust’s text is opaque – he sees three trees, but what is he looking at? Berio’s setting of the vocal line reflects the circular logic of the text. How fortunate he was to have a partner like Berberian who could shape the phrases to his idiosyncratic needs. No one has ever, to my knowledge mastered his distinctive melismas as she has. Towards the end, she recites, as in spoken language. It’s a contrast to the musical shaping of the earlier music, yet it also bridges a return to the orchestral section that follows. Yet the music itself reflects speech – sudden outbursts and moments of quietness, the scurrying single notes like scraps of conversation. The Stück für Orchester mit gesprochenen Einwürfen is a fascinating interplay; disjointed interjections of speech over long expressive lines in the music.


<< Home
jazz, música improvisada, electrónica, new music e tudo à volta



Setembro 2004
Outubro 2004
Novembro 2004
Dezembro 2004
Janeiro 2005
Fevereiro 2005
Março 2005
Abril 2005
Maio 2005
Junho 2005
Julho 2005
Agosto 2005
Setembro 2005
Outubro 2005
Novembro 2005
Dezembro 2005
Janeiro 2006
Fevereiro 2006
Março 2006
Abril 2006
Maio 2006
Junho 2006
Julho 2006
Agosto 2006
Setembro 2006
Outubro 2006
Novembro 2006
Dezembro 2006
Janeiro 2007
Fevereiro 2007
Março 2007
Abril 2007
Maio 2007
Junho 2007
Julho 2007
Agosto 2007
Setembro 2007
Outubro 2007
Novembro 2007
Dezembro 2007
Janeiro 2008
Fevereiro 2008
Março 2008
Abril 2008
Maio 2008
Junho 2008
Julho 2008
Agosto 2008
Setembro 2008
Outubro 2008
Novembro 2008
Dezembro 2008
Janeiro 2009
Fevereiro 2009
Março 2009
Abril 2009
Maio 2009
Junho 2009
Julho 2009
Agosto 2009
Setembro 2009
Outubro 2009
Novembro 2009
Dezembro 2009
Janeiro 2010
Fevereiro 2010
Junho 2011
Maio 2012
Setembro 2012

previous posts

  • Crossing Birds, CDr editado na norte-americana Fox...
  • Resonance FM Podcast: PERSIAN ELECTRONIC MUSIC Ma...
  • INSTAL 08, the UK's best festival of experimental ...
  • 16 Fev 2008, 21h00 - Grande Auditório do Centro Cu...
  • Há acasos felizes. Sem saber que existia, veio at...
  • Anthony Braxton: Chasing the Ghost TranceStuart Br...
  • Pharoah Sanders a baladar ligeiro, com William Hen...
  • Ópera de Emmanuel Nunes transmitida para 14 cidade...
  • Braga Jazz 2008! Dias 6, 7, 8 , 14 e 15 de Março, ...
  • Ainda a propósito de Don Cherry (1936-1995) e da s...

  • links

  • Improvisos ao Sul
  • Galeria Zé dos Bois
  • Crí­tica de Música
  • Tomajazz
  • PuroJazz
  • Oro Molido
  • Juan Beat
  • Almocreve das Petas
  • Intervenções Sonoras
  • Da Literatura
  • Hit da Breakz
  • Agenda Electrónica
  • Destination: Out
  • Taran's Free Jazz Hour
  • François Carrier, liens
  • Free Jazz Org
  • La Montaña Rusa
  • Descrita
  • Just Outside
  • BendingCorners
  • metropolis
  • Blentwell
  • Rui Eduardo Paes
  • Clube Mercado
  • Ayler Records
  • o zurret d'artal
  • Creative Sources Recordings
  • ((flur))
  • Esquilo
  • Insubordinations
  • Sonoridades
  • Test Tube
  • audEo info
  • Sobre Sites / Jazz
  • Blogo no Sapo/Artes & Letras
  • Abrupto
  • Blog do Lenhador
  • JazzLogical
  • O Sítio do Jazz
  • Indústrias Culturais
  • Crónicas da Terra
  • Improv Podcasts
  • Creative Commons License
    Powered by Blogger